Goodbye Long Island City….Hello Long Island

After being unemployed for just under a month, I finally got an interview at a company in Long Island City. The position was call Analyst Programmer – ColdFusion. This offer seemed like a great opportunity, and was 20k more than my previous job, so I accept the offer and started on November 11th.

First let me give you a break down of the different commute route I took here:

The first week I took the 7:18 train from Merrick to Jamaica, then took the E train to Jackson Heights and transferred to the 7 train to 33rd and Rawson, then I would have to walk 2 blocks. This commute was so annoying because I had to transfer twice to packed subways.

The second week I took the 7:18 train from Merrick to Hunterspoint Ave and transferred to the 7 train back to 33rd and Rawson. This commute was slightly better because I only had to take one subway, and since this train was going Queens bound the train was pretty empty, so I was able to sit. I did however still have to transfer at Jamaica, and there was no guarantee of getting a seat on either LIRR trains. Plus there was the fact of having to get off at Jamaica and wait in the cold for the Hunterspoint Ave train.

Coming home the trains where the same both subways were pack when I was going back to Jamaica. When leaving from Hunterspoint Ave, I had to change at Jamaica and wait about 10-15 minutes for the Merrick train, again no guarantee of getting a seat.

One day coming home on the 5:29 out of Hunterspoint Ave, I heard the announcement that this train stops at Jamaica and Hicksville, and blah blah blah. I gots to thinking, and looked up how to get to and from work using the Hicksville station. Wouldn’t you know there is a 7:08 train out of Hicksville that goes directly to Hunterspoint Ave, that’s right, NO CHANGING AT JAMAICA!!! This change in commute cut a good hour round trip out of my commuter, make this commute slightly more barely. I still have to walk 2 blocks in the freezing cold and, while you may be thinking, “suck it up pussy,” but I HATE THE COLD!

Anyways, onto the job, I was all excited to start on November 11th, despite the commute, however things began at a very slow pace and didn’t change much. I’m not sure if this is just a slow period or if there is really nothing to do. I think I probably did about two to four days of actual work in the month that I have been here. I became very bored and did not think this was helping the advancement of my career. So, when I was contacted by a recruiter about a PHP job in Melville (much closer to home), I told her I did not want to take off work if this company was not really considering a beginner level PHP developer for hire. She said that they are very interested due to my programming background, albeit in ColdFusion. I went on the interview on December 11th and two days later they made an offer. Same salary and closer to home, no brainer right? Not necessarily, both they and I were concerned about my lack of PHP experience, they wanted to know if I felt confident enough in my ability to pick up and get caught up to speed with PHP in a month.  I said if I was working with the language everyday for a month I would feel confident I would be able to get familiar with PHP. I’ll admit I am still a bit nervous about this, as I do not want to be out of a job again after a month. I am set to start on January 2nd. 🙂

It seems like they hired people who they feel will mesh well with the staff and those who are looking to grow with the company. I like this about them. I am not saying things are different at the job I am leaving, because its not, they have people who have been here for at the most 30 years. That is crazy dedication to a company and a company to their employees. I found this out at the company holiday party where they gave out awards for employees with years of service in multiples of 5 (5, 10, 15, etc…). Those of you who know me would say, “That’s perfect for you, you love multiples of 5” and to that I would say, “you are right, but I think this new job is a better opportunity for advancement.”

  1. #1 by Alex on January 2, 2014 - 1:05 pm

    I’m watchin’ you son… Good luck!

  2. #2 by Eugene on January 2, 2014 - 1:12 pm

    Thanks Meng! how’s it going at the Buzz?

Leave a Reply

